Recently Adopted Rules Subscribe to Recently Adopted Rules

After an agency conducts a public hearing and reviews submitted comments, the agency must publish the final, or adopted, rule on the NYC Rules website.  The final rule takes effect 30 days after its publication.

This page includes all rules that have been adopted in the past two years.  Older rules can be viewed in the Rules of the City of New York.

Please note that public comments can only be viewed online until the rule’s effective date.  To view comments after the rule’s effective date, you must submit a request directly to the rulemaking agency.

Rule Agencysort descending Effective Date
Use of Ballast and Aggregate in Solar Electric Generating Systems DOB Friday, October 6, 2017
Rules Relating to Cranes and Derricks DOB Friday, January 1, 2016
Amendment of Violation Classifications Relating to Safety of Construction Equipment DOB Friday, April 15, 2016
Amendment of Licensing Rules Relating to Riggers, Sign Hangers and Elevator Inspection Agencies DOB Thursday, May 25, 2017
Repeal of Rules and Reference Standards now incorporated in Building Code and Electrical Code DOB Monday, January 4, 2016
Regulation of Construction Superintendents DOB Monday, May 30, 2016
Individual Private On-Site Sewage Disposal Systems DOB Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Amendment of Rules Implementing Energy Code DOB Friday, October 20, 2017
Amendment of Solar Energy Property Tax Abatement Rules DOB Thursday, June 16, 2016
Amendment of Requirements for Hoisting Machine Operator Licenses DOB Thursday, March 2, 2017
Buildings Penalty Schedule DOB Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Change of Criteria for the Removal of Derelict Bicycles from Public Property DSNY Sunday, September 25, 2016
Recycling Requirements for Entities that Receive Private Carter Collection DSNY Monday, August 1, 2016
Limitation on Size of Solid Waste Receptacles DSNY Friday, May 5, 2017
DSNY Final Rule Relating to Penalties for Littering Offenses DSNY Monday, June 5, 2017
Final Rules Relating to the Registration of Recycling Processing Facilities DSNY Monday, October 24, 2016
Source Separation and Handling Requirements for Commercial Organic Waste DSNY Monday, January 18, 2016
Amendment of Highway Rules DOT Sunday, August 7, 2016
DOT Pedestrian Plaza Rules DOT Monday, June 20, 2016
DOT Amendment to Bicycles in Office Buildings rule DOT Saturday, November 4, 2017
DOT Penalty Schedule DOT Sunday, October 1, 2017
DOT Amendment to Traffic Rules DOT Thursday, April 20, 2017
DOT Carshare Rules DOT Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Sight-seeing Bus Stop Lottery DOT Thursday, May 12, 2016
DOT Amendment relating to boarding requirements for the Staten Island Ferry DOT Thursday, April 20, 2017

Pages