Skip to content

Amendment of Rules Governing Boiler and Elevator Inspections

Rule status: Proposed

Agency: DOB

Comment by date: November 29, 2021

Rule Full Text
Proposed-Rule-Amendment-of-Rules-Governing-Boiler-and-Elevator-Inspections.pdf

The Department of Buildings (DOB) is proposing to amend section 101-07 of Subchapter A of Chapter 100 of Title 1 of the Rules of the City of New York regarding approved agencies, and sections 103-01, 103-02 and 103-05 of Subchapter C of Chapter 100 of Title 1 of the Rules of the City of New York regarding low-pressure boilers, elevators, and high-pressure boilers, respectively.

Attendees who need reasonable accommodation for a disablity such as a sign language translation should contact the agency by calling or emailing dobrules@buildings.nyc.gov by November 15, 2021

Send comments by

Public Hearings

Date

November 29, 2021
11:00am - 12:00pm EST

Location



Connect Virtually

/>https://buildings.webex.com/buildings/j.php?MTID=ma725bea4037588d3972deafa67c7363b


When prompted, enter the following meeting password: 10007

When joining the meeting choose either “Use computer for audio” or “Call in” for the audio portion of the public hearing. If you choose the “Call in” option, the information needed to connect (phone number, Access Code and Attendee ID) will automatically be presented to you immediately after you join the Webex meeting.

To join the meeting only by phone, use the following information to connect:

Phone: 646-992-2010
Access code: 230 237 49043
Password (if requested): 10007

Disability Accommodation

Online comments: 3

  • Laura Hofmann

    11/12/2021
    To whom it may concern,
    Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the NYC Department of Building rules that effect elevator inspections. First of all, I’d like to point out that the online content does not do a great job in clarifying for the general public what the goal of the text additions and removals seek to do. A clear summary would be best.
    https://rules.cityofnewyork.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/Proposed-Rule-Amendment-of-Rules-Governing-Boiler-and-Elevator-Inspections.pdf
    https://rules.cityofnewyork.us/rule/amendment-of-rules-governing-boiler-and-elevator-inspections/
    I do notice that text additions seem to provide even more opportunities for building owners to postpone or skip elevator inspections to the detriment of the tenants who live in these buildings.
    I live in a Star Realty Corp building in Brooklyn, as do five of my grandchildren. My husband and I live in 127 Dupont St and my grandchildren live in 995 Gates Ave.
    Star Realty Corp. seems to have a poor track record when it comes to keeping their elevators in good repair. In my building, for example, the elevator chronically broke down for many years until parts of it were replaced during a two month span without use of the elevator. I suffered a knee injury during that time as a direct result of having to use the stairs.
    After the parts were replaced, the elevator continues to break down often, leaving my husband and I, both with disabilities sometimes stranded downstairs with groceries. The elevator issues were only taken seriously after many documented DOB complaints.
    My grandchildren were actually trapped in the elevator in their building with their mother and were literally pulled out by neighbors. Their elevator too, is often inoperable.
    There are many complaints for both buildings visible on the DOB website.
    I can’t imagine NYC Department of Buildings inspection requirements becoming more lax and more ineffective than they already are. So I greatly oppose any changes that result in relaxing the requirements for elevator inspection and repairs. If anything, elevator requirements should be strengthened for the safety of tenants.
    Feel free to contact me if there are any questions about my comments.
    Laura Hofmann
    127 Dupont St 2E
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    347 683 7478
    laura.a.hofmann@gmail.com

    Comment attachment
    DOB-1.pdf
    Comment added November 12, 2021 2:55pm
  • Laura Hofmann

    11/12/2021
    To whom it may concern,
    Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the NYC Department of Building rules that effect elevator inspections. First of all, I’d like to point out that the online content does not do a great job in clarifying for the general public what the goal of the text additions and removals seek to do. A clear summary would be best.
    https://rules.cityofnewyork.us/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/Proposed-Rule-Amendment-of-Rules-Governing-Boiler-and-Elevator-Inspections.pdf
    https://rules.cityofnewyork.us/rule/amendment-of-rules-governing-boiler-and-elevator-inspections/
    I do notice that text additions seem to provide even more opportunities for building owners to postpone or skip elevator inspections to the detriment of the tenants who live in these buildings.
    I live in a Star Realty Corp building in Brooklyn, as do five of my grandchildren. My husband and I live in 127 Dupont St and my grandchildren live in 995 Gates Ave.
    Star Realty Corp. seems to have a poor track record when it comes to keeping their elevators in good repair. In my building, for example, the elevator chronically broke down for many years until parts of it were replaced during a two month span without use of the elevator. I suffered a knee injury during that time as a direct result of having to use the stairs.
    After the parts were replaced, the elevator continues to break down often, leaving my husband and I, both with disabilities sometimes stranded downstairs with groceries. The elevator issues were only taken seriously after many documented DOB complaints.
    My grandchildren were actually trapped in the elevator in their building with their mother and were literally pulled out by neighbors. Their elevator too, is often inoperable.
    There are many complaints for both buildings visible on the DOB website.
    I can’t imagine NYC Department of Buildings inspection requirements becoming more lax and more ineffective than they already are. So I greatly oppose any changes that result in relaxing the requirements for elevator inspection and repairs. If anything, elevator requirements should be strengthened for the safety of tenants.
    Feel free to contact me if there are any questions about my comments.
    Laura Hofmann
    127 Dupont St 4D
    Brooklyn, NY 11222
    347 683 7478
    laura.a.hofmann@gmail.com

    Comment attachment
    DOB-1-1.pdf
    Comment added November 12, 2021 3:01pm
  • Bryan Liff

    This is just another ploy by the city to pass costs on to building owners. After the HSTPA, if this passes, you can expect any vacant units to remain so. The constant attack on property owners in this city will not go uncontested and will have the desired result in reducing the availability of rental units to decrease, but feel free to pass this and watch housing decrease – your choice.

    Comment added November 29, 2021 5:30pm

Comments are now closed.