Licensing and Regulation of Ticket Sellers

Adopted Rules: Closed to Comments

Effective Date: 
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Agency:
Keywords:
Download Copy of Adopted Rule (.pdf): 

Statement of Basis and Purpose of Rule

 

The City Council enacted Local Law 80 for the Year 2016, adding Subchapter 33 to Title 20 of the New York City Administrative Code to require ticket sellers in New York City to be licensed and regulated by the Department of Consumer Affairs (“DCA”). 

These rules establish requirements to implement the Law.  Specifically, the rules establish:

  • Record-keeping requirements.
  • A schedule of fixed penalties for violations of the ticket seller law and rules. The penalties for vending without a ticket seller license are modified from the proposed rules published on September 1, 2017 to: $50 for first violations; $100 for second violations; $250 for third violations; and $500 for fourth and subsequent violations.